2009 Winners & Finalists

Watch individual segments, including the finalists' presentations, Matthew Bishop's keynote address, and the awarding of the prize.

The winners of The Collaboration Prize were selected through a rigorous evaluation and judging process.  These winners represent the “best of the best” – exemplary models for the sector.

The winners were selected from a group of 8 finalists. Site visits to each of the finalists were conducted by La Piana Consulting and the AIM Alliance. The site visits were designed to verify information in the nomination and to develop a deeper understanding of the value of the collaboration as a model, the quality of the collaborative relationship, and the community impact of the collaboration.

30 top scoring nominations were selected as semifinalists. The semifinalists were reviewed and scored by the Final Selection Panel, which was chaired by Sterling Speirn, President and CEO of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and included representatives of both the nonprofit and for-profit sector.

The 120 nominations receiving the highest scores were selected as quarterfinalists. The quarterfinalists were selected from the pool of nominations screened by La Piana Consulting for further review and scoring by the AIM Alliance.  Each Center utilized the same scoring criteria in determining those nominations that would move to the next step in the process.

Download a printable list of all quarterfinalists, semifinalists, and finalists (PDF)

The AIM Alliance is a collaboration among The Lodestar Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Innovation at Arizona State University, The Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University, and The Johnson Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership at Grand Valley State University (Michigan) focused on addressing the needs of an evolving nonprofit sector.

La Piana Consulting is a national firm dedicated to strengthening nonprofits and foundations that has conducted research and written extensively on the topic of strategic partnerships and collaboration.